The Simply Breathtaking Series

Can you spot the difference?

As you all know, I love to watch people and habits. The thing that sticks out a lot is the huge difference between a girl and a woman. And I am not talking about the obvious tight skin, looking younger, and the short skirts… or the amount of times they use the word like. I’m referring to the approval needed from the people that surround them.

I’ll probably get flak from twenty-year-olds about this… but it’s true and these are things I’ve noticed when I’ve been in restaurants, out at pubs, doing groceries, at the gym. I write about twenty-year-olds so I find in fascinating at the mannerisms. Yes, I know not everyone is the same, and that it may sound like I am generalizing. But I don’t think I am. No, I haven’t documented every meet I have with a girl or a woman to back up what I’m saying, so don’t shoot the messenger.

Let’s start at the gym. A girl goes to the gym with the on trend gym outfit, her hair perfect and makeup like she was ready to go out for the night strutting herself through the gym procrastinating just so she gets looks from every person in the gym. (Girls like attention from whoever) While a woman will rock in hair wispy, thrown up in a rough bun, no make-up, mismatching outfit and half the time with a water bottle, towel without a brand name on as she’s had for years… women are set for comfort, they don’t talk to anyone excepts for a quick smile as they appreciate everyone is busy and time is limited. If they are at the gym it means workout time. They aren’t there to socialize; they aren’t there to impress. They don’t worrying about what the gym people think of them. A woman only cares about what their partner thinks… everyone else it doesn’t matter.

Some could say that girls don’t have to work out as much as a woman… I call bullshit. I see plenty of girls who have more cellulite than I do. Just because they are young and eat little doesn’t mean you don’t have to work out. Respect your body girls. Everyone should eat well and exercise.

It’s when a group of girls are in a social situation you notice a big difference. Normally one of them throws a tantrum of some sort and storms out and after two other girls chase her down and bring her back so they can order food. Girls will pick at the food (a salad), not allowing time for their taste buds to explode. They drink water or low calorie drinks and watch what everyone else is eating and if one stops eating they all stop. Food goes back half eaten. The thought of dessert is not even contemplated as eating that so called dessert is bad for you… It’s not bad btw… dessert is the mouth-watering part.

While a group of women at a table will eat as they wish, order two bottles of wines have nibbles, a main and a dessert. Maybe it’s because we appreciate someone else cooking the food and cleaning up (women are domestic), maybe it’s because we earn more than a Uni student… or maybe ones social position has nothing to do with it. It’s that women and happy within themselves and their body. They realize life is short and eating what we want is okay. If we want a steak or a pie we eat it. As long as it tastes good I say. Women don’t worry if our friends approve of what we are eating, girls do. Who cares girls? What if someone saw you… what will happen? It’s not the end of the world. What if someone posts a pick of you eating a pie will social media will melt down? Not everything is a drama; if you put on 200g it’s not drastic… a girl uses her physical beauty as a currency and basis of value. Women don’t worry until we realize our jeans aren’t fitting anymore and think… okay maybe I should cut down from a glass every night to every second night. We all need a balance and if we have a huge meal the next day we should do a workout to make up for it.

A girl at work said this the other day as I was eating a Mars Bar and it made me think of this blog post. Girls and women are totally different.

G:Didn’t you do a big workout this morning? Me:Yep. G:So why are you eating a Mars Bar then? M:Because I wanted a soft nougat with a creamy caramel covered in a thick milk chocolate. (I said in sexy voice, yes woman can be girlish) G:I am serious Melissa. Why are you eating chocolate? M:Because I want it. G:You can’t. M:Why can’t I? G:You’ll get fat. M:From one Mars Bar? G:Yes M:So be it, more to life than ones physical beauty missy. Taste is something you’ll appreciate as you get older. G:Hey, I am older. I turned 21 the other day. And physical beauty gets you a man. You should have seen everyone staring at my outfit at my party. So many compliments, but I got rid of the guy I was dating as I found one that ticks all the boxes on my checklist of a dream guy, plus he earns more, better looking. M:Money isn’t everything. G:Yes it is. M:No it’s not and looks aren’t anything to go by in the bedroom either. G:Who cares about the bedroom? As long as he looks good on my arm I say. M: That will change. (I couldn’t believe what I was hearing and tried to re-direct the conversation) Did you help your mum cook to get ready for the party? No, I don’t cook or clean. Mums are supposed to do that. At this point I was aggravated with the immature mindset and continued biting my Mars Bar and she hit it out of my mouth.

G:No Mars Bars!

We went back to work then I returned from lunch with a pie and coke and she threw a tantrum. LMAO. Boys attract girls and men attract women. Can you spot the difference?

Enjoy it any way you can!

Melissa Craig.

6 responses

  1. Mel, this is freakin’ brilliant. I know a very few women who are only in their twenties or even teens, but I know a hella lot of girls who are 40, 50, 60. It’s how much confidence you have in yourself. Do you fall down and look to see if anyone was watching before you check to see if you broke any bones? GIRL. Do you give yourself everything you need and test yourself any way you can because YOU want to achieve? WOMAN.

    PREACH, SISTER!

    May 24, 2016 at 4:19 am

  2. Gah, that conversation with that girl made me want to be sick. When people told me to marry well, I told them I’d damn well make my own money! And I am! Screw a man and his money.

    I agree with you on the distinction, but I’m not sure it’s just an age thing. I think it’s a maturity thing. Some people get it young, and some people NEVER get it. My friends and I weren’t even like this girl when we were her age. We went out every Friday night, ate schnitzel, had too much vodka, and ate dessert. I never went to the gym (ugh). And some women I know now, though older, are still this shallow.

    I also partially attribute it to the patriarchy–this notion that the female gender’s only aspiration should be to land a man and have children. Like we don’t have any else of worth to offer society? That’s what this girl lacks–any idea as to her own worth to society. She values herself only according to the man she can land.

    You and I value ourselves on a very different scale!

    May 24, 2016 at 4:29 am

    • Ha ha I kept thinking…I don’t remember ever saying shit like this. Lol. Maturity indeed. I was staring at her like wtf.

      May 24, 2016 at 4:36 am

Leave a Reply

