The Simply Breathtaking Series

I’m getting an Honorable Mention at IWD Columbus, Ohio

Wow! I wake up this morning with an email from the

‘102nd Celebration of International Women’s Day Columbus’

stating that I had been nominated for an award. I was nominated for my contribution to media with the podcast I produce “The Melissa Craig & Charity Parkerson Show’ and my contributions towards helping indie authors & musicians. However, the fact that I don’t live in the US I am unable to qualify for voting so instead they are giving me a ‘Honorable Mention’ at the award event on the 8th March, 2013. As Heather the organiser of the event said “It is important to support all women everywhere!” Awwww….

“The IWD (International Women’s Day) is a celebration which  has been taking place since 1909. With a purpose to empower and encourage women around the world, this event honors their many contributions within the community. On March 8th, 2013, Columbus, Ohio will celebrate IWD through a day full of engaging events, international inspired arts, music and cuisines.”  from the Facebook page via www.IWDColumbus.webs.com

Not only am I getting a mention, they are going to promote me as well  by adding my bio, links and picture to the site… woo hoo!  Which I have yet to write my bio for podcasting…first task on the list. Plus they are looking at holding a summit here in Australia at the end of this year and would like me to be involved in this awesome opportunity. Wow! When I know more you will be the first to know.

I am grateful for the ‘Honorable Mention’ and very thankful for the recognition on the amount of hours that go into podcasting every week.  We do it voluntarily and yes it takes away from my own writing time every week, but Charity and I believe that all authors/musicians deserve to be recognised for the hard work they put into their creativity. This is our way to help spread the word and we would still do it even if we only had a few people listening every week.

This has made my day and I never in my wildest of dreams thought I would be one of those women mentioned at a IWD event.

IWD 2013

 

This is a link to our podcast page: https://melissacraigauthor.wordpress.com/podcast/ or you can check it out on iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/melissa-craig-charity-parkerson/id527048995?ign-mpt=uo%3D4

Thank you ‘102nd Celebration of International Women’s Day Columbus’ and  enjoy  it any way you can!

 

2 responses

  1. Edith Dineen

    You go girl congratulations you are so awesome

    February 2, 2013 at 3:54 am

Leave a Reply

