The Simply Breathtaking Series

I AWAKE

Today before I even opened my eyes. I could hear the birds chirping, I could hear movement of the world down the hill. I heard the footsteps of my dog coming closer realising I am stirring.

I awake to think I am grateful to be waking up. I am grateful I am faced with my dog saying good morning with excitement in his eyes, (yes they may be saying hurry up I need to get outside and tinkle) but I am here in this world to see it.

Many days go by that we regret saying it was the worse day ever. But in all honesty we need to be grateful that we can whine about it. Seriously if you get stuck in traffic and get road rage, instead be thankful you have a car to be stuck in traffic. If you have a disagreement with someone you thought loved you and you  lose them forever. Maybe it wasn’t meant to be and you are better off without them. Be thankful you realised now before something worse happened.  Justice will be served and Kama has a funny way of working things out.

I reached over and patted my dog, thankful that I could move my arm reaching to pat him. It’s the little things in our everyday world we forget. We become so consumed by what we don’t have than what we do. You may think you don’t have anything of value, but really you do.

You have your eyes to read this, you have a heart that beats, you take a breath. You have emotion as a tear trickles down your cheek. You can move your hand to wipe the tear away. You may be so hurt that you don’t want to move, don’t want to talk to anyone, to stay in bed and hibernate.

Just because you may have lost the one you love, or you don’t have the best of everything you desire. Things may seem to be crumbling down around you and you get so consumed by the negative impact it has. But in all honestly it has happened, we can’t change it, we can’t go back in time and do things differently. Even as bad as it may be it could have been worse. I could have not opened my eyes at all.

 

6 responses

  1. Hugs <3<3<3

    September 19, 2012 at 10:55 pm

  2. justinbog

    Understanding and gratitude for a poignant post . . . Kipling and Zippy loved it too, M.

    September 19, 2012 at 10:55 pm

  3. benditty

    Absolutely breathtaking, Mel. You’ve really helped me be more appreciative.

    September 19, 2012 at 11:13 pm

  4. Well said! Beautifully written. Thank you for reminding me everyday is a gift. I appreciate you sweet lady.

    September 19, 2012 at 11:43 pm

  5. Pingback: I AWAKE « Purplerose123's Blog

  6. Lovely post, Melissa. Thanks for this.
    And so true. Life for most of is pretty good. We shouldn’t complain so much when others are suffering.

    September 20, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

