The Simply Breathtaking Series

Melissa Craig attended Helene Young’s Book Launch!

Tonight I attended the book launch of an Australian North Queensland Author/pilot.  Yes that’s right she is also a pilot.

Her name is Helene Young and she is one of the biggest authors in the romance community here in Australia. With many awards under her belt. Even though she hasn’t been writing for long she is making her own path with her books set here in North Queensland taking the world by storm.

I was fortunate enough to be in Sydney, sitting at the same table with Helene when she won the Australian Romance Readers Award for 2011. I still remember her saying ‘I can’t move’ when her name was announced, she was in shock. Everyone of course turned to our table to see her and we all stood up immediately clapping with everyone encouraging her ‘Yes you can, stand up.’ I think I said something along the lines of, ‘you deserve it, Helene, go get it.’ She looked at me, I nodded and she got up slowly.   Oh I burst into tears… It was a beautiful moment and it could not have gone to a better, more well deserving person.

She truly is a beautiful and is additicted to Twitter like I am. Hehe…So much so we continually laughed at the amount of looks we got from other authors, readers when the different genre winners were announced we tweeted. I feel apart of the writing community because of Helene and she always makes the time of day if I have a question.

Helene accepting her trophy at the ARRA night, Sydney 2012.

Helene is lucky, not only does she have the support from the writing community but also the aviation industry. Tonight proved it, it was like a big family and very supportive. When I turned up looking at all the cars and started to walk towards the loud noise ahead of me glad to hear clicking of the heels behind me to ask ‘Is this for Helene Young?’ Of course I had the right place but wow! I knew Helene when she had just released one book and couldn’t get a book launch party.

It’s funny how much can change in a year.  A few hundred people turned up.

This week she had a four page spread in a local magazine.

Helene and I tonight…another book to add to my signed editions. Yay! Release date end of the month.

These are her first two books.  This is last one is the one launched tonight.

 

 

 

 

OMG life really is awesome. I am happy for Helene and wish her all the best with her new book release. Plus she has agreed to do an author spotlight on ‘The Melissa Craig and Charity Parkerson  Podcast’  soon.

6 responses

  1. What a lovely story, Melissa. It’s so great to be a part of other writers lives. Wishing Helene every success with her new book:)

    July 6, 2012 at 4:02 pm

  2. Patrica

    Sounds like. A great memorial night by all

    July 6, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  3. Mel, thank you so much for your lovely blog post! It was a great evening and good to catch up with even briefly! Looking forward to the RWA conference in August and having time to talk some more!!

    The wonderful community of romance writers makes this journey very special 🙂

    July 7, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Leave a Reply

